Skip to content

The mysteriously beautiful Rorschach Test

July 30, 2009
Rorschach Blot No. 10

Rorschach Blot No. 10

The NYTimes published an interesting article on the debate over Wikipedia’s  provision of the Rorschach blots online. Psychological testing is always interesting… but when I went to the Wikipedia page to see what all the fuss was about I got even more interested since the blots themselves are so beautiful.

The debate centers around the fact that the full set of 10 images had not been easily available to the general public unless you had purposely sought them out by either 1) buying the full set for over $100 or 2) going through obscure websites. However, after an emergency room doctor (from Saskatchewan of all places!) posted the full set on Wikipedia this year along with common interpretations of the blots, psychologists became worried that people will “cheat” on their inkblot tests. Considering the amount of research that has gone into interpreting the results of these tests (chiefly focused on finding a uniform way to interpret the results) the psychologists are worried that the results of the test will be meaningless if someone has been previously exposed to the images (so close your eyes if you you are reading this and think you may have to take a Rorschach test any time soon…).

However, after reading the Wikipedia description of how detailed the tests are I highly doubt having the images available to the public will reduce the effectiveness of the test since the blots are given to the patient more as a tool to observe their general approach to a task. After doing a full questioning of the patient and what they see in the blots, the doctor gives the patient the cards individually and watches how they handle them etc. and then asks them to point out major areas of interest. I doubt that there is any right or wrong way to approach that part of the test. It is more like a personality test than anything else. Obviously, I am not a psychologist so maybe I’m not aware enough of the issues to really comment but that was my opinion.

In any case, the image above looks to me like an upside down Delft tile with a tulip in the middle surrounded by blue carnations, yellow lilies and some other orange flower… I think I could make a  nice wallpaper out of it as a repeating pattern, don’t you think? I also think I would FAIL the Rorschach test even if I didn’t know the answers because I would say that the blot looks like a Dutch tile and the doctors wouldn’t know what to do with me…

Rorschach Blot No. 8

Rorschach Blot No. 8

One Comment leave one →
  1. Camilla permalink
    August 10, 2009 11:59 pm

    “I also think I would FAIL the Rorschach test even if I didn’t know the answers because I would say that the blot looks like a Dutch tile and the doctors wouldn’t know what to do with me…”

    aaahahaah too cute (and also, true, hee 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

