Skip to content

Anticipating Paris… Shakespeare&Co.

August 26, 2009

Shakespeare&Co.In anticipation of my trip to Paris I have been flipping through a small collection of guidebooks (my favorite being the Knopf  Mapguide -I used the St. Petersburg version when I was in Russia and it became my constant companion, if only just for the easy to read maps on which I could mark my favorite pie shops). I am staying in the 6th arrondissement and from my careful scrutiny of maps it seems that the renowned Shakespeare & Co. bookstore will only be a short walk away. Named after the bookstore that closed during WWII, the original store was a haven for writers living in Paris including Hemingway, James Joyce and F. Scott Fitzgerald. I’m starting Hemingway’s “A Moveable Feast” on the plane and I believe the bookstore plays a central part in the book. I can’t wait to visit in between museum jaunts and if their website is any indication, I am sure this will be the bookstore of my dreams…

PS If you are still stuck in New York, which I know I would be if I hadn’t decided on this spur-of-the-moment trip, I saw a Shakespeare & Co. on Lexington and 69th this morning on the way to work. I doubt it will be the same but maybe it will have the same spirit?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

