Skip to content

More crafty weekends… Faux Fur Scarf

February 21, 2010

So after wanting to purchase a fur neck warmer for so long and realizing that it’s too late in the season to get them any more I decided I could probably just make one myself. All it took was a quick trip to Mood Fabrics to pick up some faux fur ($30/yard; I got a full yard just to be safe but now I have a lot left over, want a scarf anyone?). The sewing part was really easy, just cut out basic rectangle 62″ in length by 26″ in width (the final product is 30″  by 12″), fold in half, and pin together two sides (one short and one long). Leaving about a one inch hem, start sewing around both sides, leaving one short end open. Turn inside out, sew the end together (bottom left photo) and you are almost done. You can choose to either attach buttons as I did above or sew both ends together to make a funnel shape (though I didn’t think that was convenient if you want to avoid static-y hair, especially in the winter…). I was lucky enough to find two old mother-of-pearl buttons in my button stash but you could also fold it so that the buttons don’t show. I didn’t want to cut into the fur to make button holes, so I sewed on two loops of black ribbon and looped those over the buttons to create the closing.

For step-by-step pictures and photos of the funnel variation, see the blog “…love Maegan” here.

Bold inspiration - Matthew Williamson's Fall 2010 show

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:18 pm

    I love your scarf because it’s so furry and cute.

  2. wixteria permalink*
    February 26, 2010 12:25 am

    Haha – I thought you said you didn’t like the buttons!

  3. Annie permalink
    February 28, 2010 3:51 am

    Well the scarf is still cute regardless. But maybe we can find a better fit at tender buttons?

Leave a Reply

