Skip to content

Otomi Fabric

March 2, 2010

More dreaming for my new apartment had me thinking about an upholstered headboard – after finding one that was my favorite at Crate and Barrel (the Colette bed in beige linen with nailhead trim; $1,600) I found a more affordable version at Target (the Georgetown Velvet headboard; $200 – what a difference!) I still felt like they were lacking something from my original vision. A trip to Mood Fabrics got me thinking about making my own and luckily my favorite blog, Design*Sponge, has a video tutorial and it seems quite do-able! You can watch the video and read about the steps here. I found a nubbly white/silver textured fabric that I think will do quite well as a not-so-boring neutral.

The example on Design*Sponge, however, used a wonderfully vibrant handmade fabric embroidered by the Otomi People of Hidalgo, Mexico. I just love the cheerful pattern and, while I’m not sure if I would want it as a headboard, I think it could look great draped at the bottom of a bed or over a couch. Of course, Domino Magazine was one of the first to picture Otomi fabric as a bedspread (their spread is included in the collage above) so once again I’m lamenting their disappearance from newsstands… You can purchase Otomi fabrics online at Jacaranda, a store specializing in handmade products from Mexico and South America, or on eBay at the Mexican Textiles Museum Store.

If you’re interested in the background and story of the textiles, the University of Missouri features an online collection of Otomi cutouts with explanations of the symbolism underlying the designs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. camilla permalink
    March 5, 2010 5:11 pm

    This reminds me of a store I went in recently:

    http://www.lotusbleudesign.com/index.php

    fabric so preetttyyy…want to touchh…

Leave a Reply

