Skip to content

Singapore – Newton Circus

March 23, 2010

Singapore has some of the best food on the planet in my humble opinion and when I got the chance to spend two days here for work last week I seized the opportunity to head off to Newton Circus – a huge local hawker center and home to every Singaporean/Southeast Asian dish you can imagine. Some people complain that Newton Circus is too touristy and I can understand that since there were a lot of expats dining here and the stall owners were very aggressive, but really it’s the best one-stop shop for every dish you could imagine, and it’s open 24 hours. My dinner consisted of chicken satay, iced Milo (a chocolate drink) and cendol, an icy dessert of red beans and jelly flavored with palm sugar and coconut milk.  Sadly I couldn’t order more since I was stuffed but I was tempted to get some nasi goreng (Indonesia friend rice), popiah (Fujianese spring roll) and beef rendang (Indonesian beef stew) and more dessert… even though my cendol melted within a few minutes in the hot Singaporean weather!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    March 25, 2010 11:42 am

    mmm looks yummy and low in fat. haha only i would say something like that. anyway, i wish i had read a post like this before i went to thailand…

Leave a Reply

