Skip to content

Rooftop Gardens

August 12, 2011

I can’t believe it has only been a few weeks since I first planted these baby lettuce on my roof. It seems the daily dose of sunshine, generous watering every other day and weekly fertilizer has been just what they needed! I was afraid when I first planted them that they wouldn’t do well since the soil is very old and the boxes were neglected and full of weeds so I’m really glad to see that they weren’t that picky. I found some great organic fertilizer, Neptune’s Harvest, that uses fish and seaweed to feed the microbes in the soil. They have the cutest instructional videoson their website. Now my only problem is how to use all this extra basil I have! You can see my first attempt beyond the typical pesto in my spicy noodles with cashews and basil.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

